The Society is organised into three provinces: the European Province, which includes England, the Southern Province, based in Australia and the Southern African Province, with priories in Capetown and Lesotho. Members of each province meet regularly together in chapter, under the leadership of a Provincial.

Most members of the Society live in community, where they are able to give each other companionship, encouragement and mutual support. Other members, including those who have retired from active involvement with the life of the priories,live independently, sometimes acting in a chaplaincy role for other religious communities. Central to the life of each house is its daily worship: coming together for the Eucharist and divine office.

Members and associates of the Society in England are engaged in a variety of works. The two prominent works are an ecumenical spirituality centre is based at St Antony's Priory in Durham, and a residential lay community, based at The Well in Milton Keynes (formerly Willen Priory). Both projects welcome many people for spiritual direction, quiet days, retreats and other activities. In Milton Keynes there is a priory of the Society. Members of the Society are involved in the life of local parishes, deaneries and dioceses. They engage in a wide variety of ministries, including consultancies in parishes, spiritual direction, and leading quite days, retreats and study days. Most houses of the Society provide hospitality for guests to stay for shorter or longer periods, for rest and refreshment, retreats and times of quiet.

In addition to this, the Society is able to make grants to support theological education: a number of students from former eastern-bloc countries have been helped to study theology in Durham. Support is also given to the educational work of a Christian ashram in south India.

The European Province of the Society publishes a magazine twice a year. If you would like to receive it please contact any of our priories.